5 MPS students, 5 MPS educators win Herb Kohl Foundation scholarships, fellowships

Written by admin   // March 13, 2013   // 0 Comments

Awards net students, staff and schools $15,000

Five Milwaukee Public Schools students and five MPS educators have won Herb Kohl Educational Foundation scholarship and fellowship awards, the foundation has announced.

The five students won $1,000 Kohl Foundation Initiative Scholarships, which are awarded to students “who have demonstrated exceptional initiative in the classroom and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond, but have not yet received other academic-based scholarships.”

The five educators won $1,000 Kohl Foundation Fellowships. They were chosen for their “superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others and for their leadership and service within and outside the classroom.” The teachers’ schools each won $1,000 as well. In total, MPS students, staff and schools netted $15,000.

I’m proud of our students who show so much promise ­ and our educators who inspire them with service in and out of the classroom,” MPS Superintendent Gregory Thornton said.

The Kohl Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship program was established by recently-retired Wisconsin U.S. Sen. Herb Kohl in 1990. Since then, the foundation has awarded $8.2 million  to Wisconsin educators, students and schools.

“Education is the key to the future of Wisconsin and our nation,² Kohl said. “I am very proud of the accomplishments of these students and teachers, and look forward to the great contributions they will make in the future.”

Winning MPS students are:

Aaliyah Barnes, Samuel Morse€John Marshall School for the Gifted and Talented

Arieal Jones, Milwaukee School of Languages

Brianna Portwood, Casimir Pulaski High School

Taliyah Robinson, Milwaukee High School of the Arts

Pamela Villanueva, Alexander Hamilton High School

Winning MPS educators are:

Renee Bast, Academy of Accelerated Learning

Monica Czyzewski, Lincoln Avenue School

Steven Glaeser, Ronald Reagan College Preparatory High School

David Long, Rufus King International School

Shoshannah Pass, William G. Bruce School

The awards will be presented at noon on Saturday, March 23 at Greenfield High School, 4800 S. 60th Street, Greenfield, WI 53220.

This news is available online: http://www5.milwaukee.k12.wi.us/dept/superintendent/2013/03/5-mps-students-5-mps-educators-win-kohl-scholarships-fellowships/

Milwaukee Public Schools is Wisconsin¹s largest school district, serving more than 78,000 students in more than 160 schools across the city. U.S. News and World Report named MPS¹ Rufus King International School and Ronald Wilson Reagan College Preparatory High School the two best high schools in the state and among the 200 best in the country in 2012. In the past year, Milwaukee Public Schools posted a growing graduation rate 17 points higher than the rate for 2000.





five students

Herb Kohl Educational Foundation



Similar posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *