Written by admin   // August 5, 2010   // 0 Comments

Since February 10, The Milwaukee Community Journal has been celebrating family, unity and community strength by focusing on 16 individuals who best exemplify the aforementioned traits of those in New Orleans who make up “The Second Line.”

The Second Line are members of the community in that historic southern city–who, regardless of the occasion for the celebration, march behind the band, dancing to the music that made New Orleans famous, letting the good times–and the bad–roll on.

The Second Line represents the true definition of community unity, when the younger generation picks up the baton set down by the old so they can blaze their own trail, following the road map of wisdom laid out by the elders.

The 16 individuals who have been profiled in the pages of the Community Journal, Andre Bynum, Faithe Colas, Deborah Embry, Dextra Hadnot, Ald. Ashanti Hamilton, Shanee Jenkins, Nina V.A. Johnson, Lisa Jones, Atty. N. Lynette McNeely, Tommie Myles, Dr. Enid Okokon, Crystal Owney, Sheila Payton, Dr. Enid Trotman-Anyanwu, Jerry Turner, Jr. and JoAnne Pollard Williamson, display the strengths and boundless energy that is Milwaukee’s Black community. These are the heirs of a glorious past. On Aug. 7 at the Milwaukee County Domes, we will honor the past by celebrating the future during the Community Journal’s 34th anniversary gala.

As we noted when we launched this series, our honorees are building on a legacy while building a stronger Milwaukee, one classroom at a time, one meeting at a time, one sermon at a time and even one business decision at a time!

Similar posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *