Alderwoman Coggs Names 6th District Difference Makers Winners

Written by admin   // February 5, 2013   // 0 Comments

At a town hall meeting Wednesday night, Alderwoman Milele A. Coggs announced the winners of the 2012 6th District Difference Makers awards.

The recipients of the awards were Shunflicia Smith and Betty Smith of Grover Heights, Andre Lee Ellis of DMZ Garden, Denise Wooten of 14th Street C.A.R.E.S., Theresa Garrison of the Bronzeville Neighborhood and Jo Spear, Jr. of the Harambee Neighborhood. Honorable mentions were awarded to Elsie McDaniel of Grover Heights and Aureia Mosley of 14th Street C.A.R.E.S.

Alderwoman Coggs established the 6th District Difference Makers Award to recognize those residents who work diligently to improve and strengthen the quality of life for themselves, their neighborhood, and the City of Milwaukee . The recipients of this year’s award have contributed greatly, increasing neighbors’ awareness and involvement by starting new block clubs, using community gardens as outreach to bring the neighborhood together and creating a Targeted Investment Neighborhood (TIN) to help assist fellow neighbors with home repair resources, among other contributions.

The 6th District is comprised of some of Milwaukee ‘s best and most unique neighborhoods,” Alderwoman Coggs said. “But the work of these individuals proves it is also home to some incredibly caring, dedicated people. Each of these residents has gone above and beyond in their works and deeds to help others and the community in which they live, and they are truly Difference Makers.”



2012 6th District Difference Makers awards


town hall


Similar posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *