Alderwoman Milele Coggs Endorses LaShawndra Vernon, 18th Assembly District

Written by admin   // June 18, 2012   // 0 Comments

LaShawndra Vernon has formally announced her bid for State Representative of the 18th District in Milwaukee WI. Vernon is passionate about uniting diverse and resilient communities to resolve disputes using proactive communication. Through collaborative work, Vernon has established a broad base of support from citizens throughout the state and plans to build upon that support to advance the interest of the community through responsive public service.

“Ms. Vernon possesses a unique combination of talents and experiences that are solely needed in Madison. Her passion and focus on improving the quality of life for all is unparalleled. I proudly endorse her for State Representative of the 18th Assembly District.” says Alderwoman Coggs.

LaShawndra Vernon’s goal is to represent those in need and encourage community members to advocate for themselves. She is focused on Restorative Justice and specializes in Community Mediation as a member of the National Association for Community Mediation. LaShawndra works collaboratively with several coalitions in the area that promote advocacy for disadvantaged populations. She currently serves as Chair of the Milwaukee County Human Trafficking Task Force. LaShawndra is also a writer, performing artist and hip hop activist known as Firey Phoenix, and has established an organization called the Hip Hop Cypher. She is passionate about public service and believes that all people should consider an opportunity to lead in their own community.

“The 18th Assembly District needs leadership that listens to the concerns of constituents. As your Assembly Representative I will provide a solutions based approach to change. I will work with the community to develop and enhance quality of life by advocating for human rights.” Vernon pledges.

LaShawndra Vernon is a candidate for the Democratic Party. The 18th Assembly District includes Sherman Park, Washington Park, Merrill Park, Cold Spring Park, and Metcalfe Park. The 18th has been represented by Congresswoman Gwendolyn Moore, Senator Lena Taylor, and currently Representative Tamera Grigsby. Representative Grigsby recently announced she will not seek reelection.

The election date is August 14, 2012. For more information please visit or contact the campaign hotline (414) 973-9492.

Similar posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *