Annual TSU scholarship luncheon to recognize area scholastic achievers

Written by admin   // October 19, 2012   // Comments Off

by Taki S. Raton
The Milwaukee Chapter of Tennessee State University National Alumni will host its 4th Annual Scholarship Luncheon Sunday, October 28, 2012 at the Sheraton Hotel in Brown Deer, 8900 North Kildeer Court.
This gathering will celebrate the academic achievements of seven students attending the Tennessee State campus from the Milwaukee area. The goal is to raise funds for additional scholarships and to serve as a support resource for students currently attending or interested in attending TSU according to Milwaukee chapter president Gregory Williams.
The event will additionally observe this 2012 year noting the 100th Anniversary of Tennessee State University as a land grant Historically Black College (HBCU).
The scholarship recipients are freshman Justin Green, sophomore Diamanni Redmond, juniors Michaiah Hinds, Khamaria Breean Wright, and Javalon J. Jones, and seniors Rhia R. Nelson and LaQuita Grannage
Vincent P. Lyles, Executive Director of the Boys and Girls Club of Greater Milwaukee will be the guest speaker at this luncheon.
A product of Milwaukee Public Schools’ Madison High School, Lyles is an alumnus of the University of Wisconsin-Madison and the University of Wisconsin Law School. As President & CEO of the Boys and Girls Club, he oversees a budget of more than $22 million and is responsible for 39 Boys & Girls Club locations, including Camp Whitcomb/Mason and the more than 35,000 members served annually.
Lyles has been on the forefront of revitalizing some of the poorest neighborhoods and areas most in need in Milwaukee and across the nation. He previously served as president of M&I Community Development Corporation (CDC) where he expanded M&I CDC’s investment portfolio from $53 million to approximately $130 million. Prior to joining M&I CDC, he was a director with Robert W. Baird & Co. and provided financial advice to Wisconsin municipalities, school districts and special taxing units. Lyles is married and has two children.
The Milwaukee chapter is one of the largest Tennessee State University (TSU) alumni chapters in the country with over 300 graduates. Over 500 students from the Milwaukee and greater Southeastern Wisconsin area are presently in attendance on the TSU campus.
Located in Nashville, Tennessee, Tennessee State University was founded in 1912 as an African American normal school. It became a 4-year school in 1922 and received university status in 1958. The institution as it is known today was the result of a 1979 merger between Tennessee State University and the University of Tennessee at Nashville. The campus awards bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees and is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.
Tennessee State describes its mission in part as one of “providing quality academic programs which are broadly comprehensive at the baccalaureate and masters levels.” The University’s most popular majors include Business Administration, Nursing, Statistics, and Biology. Cooperate partnerships provide experience and contacts beneficial to students upon graduation when students are seeking employment.
The total enrollment of 8,254 students are able to major in a number of different schools and colleges such as the College of Arts & Sciences, the College of Business, the College of Education, the College of Engineering, Technology & Computer Science, the College of Health Sciences, the School of Agriculture & Consumer Science, and the School of Nursing. There is additionally a School of Graduate Studies and Research, and the Institute of Government.
Distinguished TSU alumni include talk show host Ophrah Winfrey, Myra Edwards and Kimberly Montgomery, both of the Mayor’s Office, City of Milwaukee, historian and UWM professor Dr. Harold Rose, actor Moses Gunn, NBA player Anthony Mason, Hall of Famers Richard Dent and Ed “Too Tall” Jones, journalist Carl Rowan, Senator Harold Ford, gospel producer Bobby Jones, singer Yolanda Adams and Ron Brown, former Secretary of the Department of Commerce.
Tickets for this Scholarship Luncheon are $35 per person and can be purchased in advance by calling (414) 353-2769 or 372-7982.






Similar posts

Comments are closed.