Community Happennings

Written by MCJStaff   // July 18, 2014   // 0 Comments

Photo by Yvonne Kemp

Photo by Yvonne Kemp


Ald. Coggs recieves inaugural James G. White award
Ald. Milele Coggs was the proud recipient of the first-ever Dr. James G. White Human Service Award presented to her recently during the inaugural Harambee Community Banquet, which was hosted by WestCare Wisconsin’s Harambee Community Involvement Center. It was held at the HeartLove Place Ballroom, 3229 N. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive. Pictured with Coggs (center) are (left to right): City Treasurer Spencer Coggs, state Senator Lena Taylor, who was mistress of ceremony; Rochelle Landingham, exec. director of WestCare Wisconsin; and James M. Ferguson, II, the banquet chair.


get-attachment.aspx12Voice of the Fatherless Child, radio station and area businesses give kids a safe summer experience
Voice of the Fatherless Child recently  presented “Searching for a Safe Summer,” in which a number of local artist joined forces with VOTFC, 1560AM, Hupy & Abraham, and The Home Depot on Port Washington Rd. to give children and families a safe location to have fun. The first100 children received free meals and a drink.





get-attachment.aspx13Local youths receive Brewers scholarships
Brianna Christian (second from left) and Aaron Wilder (second from right) were two of 16 Wisconsin students who will be attending college this fall with the help of two Brewers Community Foundation scholarship programs: The Alan H. Selig Scholarship (given to Christian), and The Miller Park Community Scholarship (given to Wilder). Joining Christian and Wilder at the ceremony held before a recent game at Miller Park are (far left) Gregory Fanning, assistant director-education/training for the Milwaukee Urban League (MUL) and (far right) Ralph Hollmon, President/CEO of the MUL. Since the program began in 2003, 116 students have received support from the Brewers Community Foundation Scholarship programs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *