SDC Board Elects New Leadership

Written by admin   // June 25, 2012   // 0 Comments

New SDC Board Officers (from left to right) C.J. Kim, Dr. Patricia Arredondo, Bobbie Webber, Shirley Krug, Virgie Wynn

Outgoing SDC Board Chair Roy Williams (left) congratulates new Board Chair Bobbie Webber

The Social Development Commission (SDC) looked back at the past while also looking forward to the coming year at their Board’s Annual Meeting. The SDC Board held their Annual Meeting at HeartLove Place.

During their meeting, the Board elected by acclamation new officers for the coming year. Bobbie Webber, representing the State of Wisconsin, was elected Chair, while Dr. Patricia Arredondo of UWM was selected Vice Chair, Virgie Wynn of SDC District 2 as Secretary, Shirley Krug of the City of Milwaukee as Treasurer, and C. J. Kim of the United Way of Greater Milwaukee as Member at Large. Also, Brian Schupper was sworn in as the new Greater Milwaukee Committee member of the Board.

During his remarks, outgoing Board Chair Roy Williams noted the past year has been a challenging one for the agency but congratulated the Board and SDC staff for their hard work in continuing to serve the low-income community of Milwaukee County. New Chair Webber thanked Mr. Williams for his service in leading the SDC Board and said that he and the Board will work hard in the coming year to support the CEO and staff of the agency and the efforts to help those who come to SDC for assistance.

CEO Deborah Blanks thanked the Board for their work in serving more than 80,000 county residents during the past year with a variety of programs and services. She stated the main goal of the agency in the coming year will be to reduce the number of persons living in poverty and to relieve the impact that poverty has on residents and neighborhoods in the Milwaukee area.

Similar posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *