Sparks On Sports.: Wisconsin Sports Awards

Written by admin   // May 30, 2012   // 0 Comments


Ron Dayne, Ahmed Green and Aaron Rodgers were among the several Wisconsin atheletes who participated in the Wisconsin Sports Awards recently held at the Wisconsin Club. (photos by Yvonne Kemp)

In the inaugural Wisconsin Sports Awards ceremony at the Wisconsin Club, May 10, athletes, teams and coaches were nominated for various awards. Many were called but few were chosen.

Awards were given for achievements reached last year. It included highlights of a Super Bowl championship, a NL Central Division title, a Big-10 championship, a pro indoor soccer championship, back-to-back Sweet 16 appearances, record-setting performances and multiple MVP seasons.

Craig Karmazin, founder and CEO of Good Karma Broadcasting with ESPN radio stations in Milwaukee in Madison, was the man behind the creation of the awards event. Winners were chosen by a panel of state media members. A total of 13 awards were presented.

Samantha Logic from Racine Case and University of Iowa received the girl’s high school basketball player of the year. Sam Dekker of Sheboygan Lutheran got the boys high school basketball player of the year. Vince Biegel from Wisconsin Rapids was the high school football player of the year. Biegel and Dekker are headed to Wisconsin.

Lance Leipold, football coach at UW-Whitewater, won the college coach of the year award. Heisman Trophy finalist Montee Ball of Wisconsin was the college player of the year. The three-time Division III National Champion UW-Whitewater football team received college team of the year honors.

The Packers were well-represented at the awards. Aaron Rodgers won professional athlete and player of the year. The Pack was the team of the year and Super Bowl XLV was the game of the year. A.J. Hawk, minus the long hair, won the community player of the year. The Brewers weren’t left out. They took home fan friendly team of the year honors and Roenicke was coach of the year.

Similar posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *